Seriously Bummed

I had two pieces of information about my brother, Daddy’s son. I’ve just learned that one of those is either wrong or he was transferred before the man I spoke with first got there. There is a three year window before the gentleman started working there, so it is possible that they never met. It’s also possible that he is someone who can’t distinguish one black person from another even though I gave him a full description. He suggested another agency. It’s possible, but I don’t think it’s probable.

I wish adults would take their own feelings out of the equation and think about the kids when they have issues. I should have grown up knowing my brother. I didn’t find out about him until I was in early undergrad. I could both scream and cry. This is squarely on my mother’s shoulders. I really needed another reason to be p.o.’d with her.

Actually, I should have looked for my brother before now. I wanted to and even made a call to a business one of Daddy’s good friends’ family owns to find said friend. I got blocked by someone who told me she didn’t have any day-to-day contact with the business anymore. I’m sure I saved the funeral program, but I have no clue where to look.

The only relative of Daddy’s that I know has to be pushing 100 by now if he’s still alive. I only met him once when he spoke at my high school and I dropped in afterwards. I’m not optimistic.

This massively sucks.

[ETA: Much joy in finding the relative I met in high school! He’s actually younger than I thought, but he’s still quite old at 89. Thank goodness he’s famous or I’d never have found the info I need. I’m one step closer.]

Comments are closed.