Sunshine On My Shoulders

After being really bummed out about finding no clue as to where my brother might be I had a wonderful change in luck. I located Daddy’s uncle and we talked for over a half hour! He had no more info on my brother’s whereabouts, but he didn’t volunteer that he didn’t know I had one. Maybe he knows something and maybe he doesn’t. I just know that talking to him made me genuinely happy for the first time since Mom died.

I’m sitting on a bench in my backyard. It’s my favorite place to be. The brat is barking at someone’s horrid attempt to carry a tune in the house next door, but I don’t care. I have more family! I’m totally blissed. The only thing I care about now is eye strain and sunburn. The sun is shining on one side of me just beyond the shade of the many trees on the property.

I saw my next door neighbors’ new Golden Retriever puppy as I was typing. She’s a beauty and the neighbor’s daughter has grown into a beauty too. It’s hard to believe she’s a college student now. My girls want to PLAAAAAY with the puppy!! I’m certain they’ll get their chance.

Wow! To think this day started with the chance selection of a Carmen McRae song randomly chosen by iTunes that led me to look at Wikipedia to find out if the great uncle I’d met only once before was still alive. Then, I had to find him which, to me, is a minor miracle because I’d never expect him to be in the online White Pages. Finally, I had a chance to talk with him. It turns out that he knew portions of my mother’s family, too. Particularly my now-deceased wealthy great uncle. Now that I think about it, that uncle wasn’t as hard on Daddy as the rest of Mom’s family. Well, frankly, if he were, it would be more than a bit hypocritical. Although I loved him dearly, my wealthy great uncle was no angel at all. That didn’t stop him and his brother from damn near running the black political circles here on BOTH sides of two fences. The first is the fence between party lines and the second is the minuscule grey line between integrity and corruption. I’m a person who sees shades of grey in most areas, so I do get it.

I keep thinking that I’ve lived an interesting life and I’m from a very interesting family on both tail and distaff sides. There is most assuredly a book or two in there.

For now, I’ll stay away from the STFU topics, but I do need to get at least some of that research done while there are still people who remember. That’s going to be like walking a tightrope. No one can hurt my father since he’s dead, but there are a few people who are still living that will be problematic. Yeah, VERY problematic.

Oh well, the sun is out of my eyes, the brat finally stopped barking and all is good. I haven’t done a lick of work today and I don’t care. It’s been one of God’s better days for me.

Comments are closed.