While laying in a hospital . . .

I’ve had a headache since Saturday afternoon. Judging from the symptoms I knew that I either had a wicked nasty bastard of a migraine or I was about to stroke out. When pain breaks through the kind of narcotics I’m on, that pain gets taken seriously. Still, end of the month, the unexpected expense of buying a second set of auto tags with the third and, I hope, final set to be purchased in May and the money just was not there to fill the Rx I already had that wasn’t working to begin with. I finally couldn’t take it anymore and had my cousin drive me to one of the local ERs.

Long story short, I was admitted and started on stronger pain meds. The unfortunate aspect is that I had no real choice but to lie and say I was better because I have managed to surround myself with people who are allergic to dogs. So that meant I needed out of the hospital. The second part of this discomforting scenario is that I could only get the pain meds as an in-patient. I definitely cared, but I cared more about my girls. There is almost no one in my breed in the area at all and there aren’t any in the breed in these parts who are friends. I got home and everything was OK even though I’d been gone something like 30 hours.

Once the pain stopped knocking me to the floor; once the room was dark, and; very little noise was coming into my ER cubicle, I had an epiphany. I’ve outgrown Glenn. Hearing and experiencing him as he is, I have learned that only one of us matured happily. He’s angry, afraid and dependent. I actually do understand a lot of that. Had my mother continued on and had I capitulated to her more and more bizarre demands, I would have been him in a couple of years. The difference is that I didn’t choose my circumstances. He did. He’s old enough to rescue himself should he choose to. He’s healthy. He is everything that I was not and still, had I not had the feeling life was going to go sideways, I would have rescued myself because I couldn’t go much further down this road.

When I realized that I’d outgrown this person to whom I’d looked up for so many years, it was a big surprise. I’d captured a part of both our lives in amber as if that was a snapshot from an old 4 megapixel point ‘n’ shoot as opposed to a snapshot from before digital cameras were invented. (Granted, more than a little hyperbolic, but the reasoning is sound.) A lot of that is because he absolutely refused to tell me of the changes in his life after I came out to him. Indeed, I think it’s fair to say that he hated me for loving women at all, regardless of where I fell on the scale of human sexuality. I would have to be all het all the time for him or he’d always wonder how I felt at any given moment on any given day, in any cycle, month or year. And in doing so, know that he couldn’t give me all that I wanted or needed, even if he could give me 99.999%. It would always be the .001% he’d look at me and hate me for because he’d think he’d failed. One thing is right: He is failing by leaps and bounds. He is failing himself, very true, but he has, is and will continue to fail me. As I said on the day he married hagbeast, Glenn is Robin’s problem now in far more ways than anyone reading this will know.

Oh, don’t get me wrong. There is still a book in this. However, something else takes precedence for the next couple of years. I can mind-doodle whenever the urge strikes. Hence, all is not lost.

Comments are closed.